This special award will be presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution through healthcare communication throughout his or her career. Nominations for this category may include a member of a government body, a charity/patient association representative or campaigner, or a stakeholder within the healthcare system.

Nominations will also be invited from the Communiqué Awards judging panel, journalists and charities/patient associations and must be received by 19 May 2023.

Previous winners include:

2022 Dame Deborah James (posthumous)
2021 Sir Jonathan Van Tam
2020 Kristin Hallenga, CoppaFeel
2019 Steve Clark
2018 Baroness Tessa Jowell (posthumous)
2017 Alastair Kent OBE, Genetic Alliance UK and Rare Disease UK
2016 Niall Dickson, General Medical Council
2015 Professor Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer
2014 Marjorie Wallace, SANE

You will need to provide:

  • Name, job title and organisation of nominee
  • A brief description of their/your role and experience
  • Describe their/your key achievements
  • Please summarise by giving three reasons why you believe this individual/you deserves to be recognised
  • What evidence can you provide to support your nomination? Such as (but not limited to): links to websites, blogs, press articles, other sources of information online about the individual.
  • Can you supply any other testimonials to support your nomination?
  • How do you know the nominee? What is your relationship to them?